Protecting your personal information

We are committed to protecting your personal data. When you use our services, we only ask you for the details we need in order to help you as best we can.

We collect the following personal information when you interact with us and when you create an account on our website:

  • IP address:  you contact our customer support team via the live chat, your IP address allows us to see your conversation history with us, in order to best assist you. We also use your IP address to determine where you are located. 
  • First name and last name: To know how to address you.
  • Email address: To be able to contact you per email.
  • Phone number: Just in case we need to ask you urgent questions about your document. 
  • Type of user: We ask you whether you are a student, teacher, or other type of user.
  • Which country you study in.
  • Which school you study at.
  • Your field of study and level of study.
  • Your expected graduation date.

When you order a proofreading service, we also ask you to provide personal information regarding the topic of your work and why you want to have it proofread. This helps our experts working on your document.

Deleting account details

It is possible to delete your account. Log on to the website, go to ‘Account’ and click on ‘Delete account’. Your order history and personal information will be deleted, and you will no longer be able to log on to the Scribbr website. We will only keep information that we are required to retain for legitimate business, tax or legal purposes. 

Confidentiality guarantee

When you upload a document on our website, we treat it with great care. We have special guidelines to which all employees and experts of Scribbr must abide, including confidentiality.

Prohibited to send to third parties or publish

Documents you upload are never shared with third parties, nor are they published.

Pledge of secrecy

All our employees and experts are obligated to maintain confidentiality in regards to the content and form of all documents.

Obligation to delete

Experts are obligated to delete your document after they have edited it.

Secure connection (SSL)

SSL secure connectionAll documents are uploaded to Scribbr via a secure connection. The green lock in your address bar indicates the upload is safe.

Retention period of documents

Edited documents

Both your original document and the edited version will be saved on our secure server for 12 months. After this period, the documents will automatically be deleted.

Plagiarism Checker

Your uploaded document will be saved on our server for 1 month. After 1 month the document will be automatically deleted. Results of the Plagiarism Checker will be deleted automatically after 12 months.

Citation Checker / Own Sources Checker

Documents uploaded for a quick check will be saved on our server for 60 minutes. Once you place your order, the uploaded document will be saved on our server for 90 days. After 90 days, the document will be automatically deleted.

Delete your documents manually

You can delete your documents and results of the Plagiarism Checker via your account manually at all times.

If you want to delete the document uploaded for the Citation Checker / Own Sources Checker before  90 days have passed, please contact our support team.

Citation Generator

We use YouTube Data API to automatically cite YouTube videos and Google Books API to automatically cite books in the Citation Generator. Visit YouTube’s Terms of Service and Google’s Privacy Policy for more information.

Cookies

Our website uses cookies to analyze the behavior of visitors on our website (Google Analytics and Amplitude) and to show remarketing ads in Google (AdWords).

We sometimes use Hotjar on specific pages for a short period of time in order to better understand our users’ needs and to optimize this service and experience.

The cookie data is encrypted and stored on your own computer. Others have no access to this data. You can decide whether you want cookies on your computer via your browser  settings.

Terms of use

When you place an order, you agree to our terms of use.

Questions?

Ask our team

Want to contact us directly? No problem. We are always here for you.

Frequently asked questions

See all
How does Scribbr handle confidential documents?

At Scribbr, we are committed to protecting your personal information. That’s why our employees and editors follow specific guidelines to ensure the confidentiality of your work:

  • Pledge of secrecy
  • Signed statement prohibiting publication or third-party sharing
  • Obligation to delete files
  • Secure connection (SSL)

Both the original and edited versions of your document are saved on our secure server for 12 months. After this period, the files are automatically deleted. However, you can manually delete your files at any time via your user profile.

delete-button

Tip: If you still have concerns about confidential information in your document, you can take additional measures to anonymize this data. We advise you to do the following:

  • Change company names and other identifying details
  • Delete data and analyses that do not need proofreading

Can I ask Scribbr to sign an NDA?

As a policy, we do not sign NDAs. Every NDA is complex and unique, and our legal team does not have the capacity to review each individual contract we receive.

However, we take extensive measures to protect the confidentiality of your documents. You can learn more about how we handle confidential information on our privacy policy page.

How can I delete my account?

Log on to our website and go to ‘Manage Account’ and click on ‘Delete account’.

How can I delete my order?

Yes, you can delete your order from your Scribbr account. The document you’ve uploaded will automatically be deleted from our server.

Please note that deleting your order is an irrevocable process. The Scribbr team will no longer have access to your document and will not be able to deal with complaints concerning your order if you delete it. Only delete your order when you are 100% satisfied with our services.

How to delete an order:

  1. Log on to the Scribbr website.
  2. From your dashboard, open the order you want to delete.
  3. Select the “Details” tab.
  4. Click “Delete order.”
  5. A form will appear on the page. Read the information carefully and enter the order number.
  6. Press “Delete” to delete your order.